Jan Evetts SuST Award

The Jan Evetts SuST Award 2017

The 30th Anniversary of Superconductor Science and Technology (SuST) will be marked by the launch of the Jan Evetts Award for the best paper published in SUST by a young researcher. The award is in fond memory of the SuST founding Editor, Professor Jan Evetts.In addition to building a strong foundation for our community journal, Jan made an outstanding series of contributions to the science of superconductivity and to the understanding of superconducting materials, and was an indefatigable champion of the development of applications of superconductivity.

Professor Jan Evetts in memoriam

The competition will be open to all researchers working in superconductivity (within the scope of SuST) who meet the following criteria:

  • Researchers may only have completed a maximum of 10 years of active research after receiving their PhD*
  • The researcher applying should be the lead author on the paper
  • Letter and Paper article types will be considered
  • All submissions must include a cover letter that states which author is applying for the award, the year of PhD completion and the individuals scientific contribution to the research in the submitted paper.

The award will be presented by Jan's wife, Rosemary Evetts.

The Jan Evetts SuST Award 2018

Entry for The Jan Evetts SuST Award 2018 will open on 10 October 2017. The submission window for the 2018 Award will be for papers that meet the above criteria submitted to SuST between10 October 2017–30 April 2018.  Please visit the booth or email sust@iop.org for more details.

Superconductor Science and Technology - iopscience.org/sust